Restricted access

This content is exclusive to members of the International Journal of Music.

Join now for as low as $1.67 per month…

…or get FREE access if you are a student or teacher!

Arno Bornkamp’s Highlights


Cite this:

Publication date:

ISSN: 2792-8349

Copyright ©

International Journal of Music

  • 1959: Born in Amsterdam (Netherlands).
  • 1982: Solo debut in Rome, with Jacques Ibert’s Concertino da camera. Since then, he has been in demand as a guest saxophonist with leading orchestras (Concertgebouw Amsterdam, The Residence Orchestra, Dutch National Opera and Ballet, as well as countless radio orchestras) under the baton of prominent conductors (Carlo Maria Giulini, Mstislav Rostropovich, Bernard Haitink, Riccardo Chailly, Mariss Jansons, Daniele Gatti, Heinz Holliger).
  • 1982: While in Rome, he founds the acclaimed Aurelia Saxophone Quartet, where he plays tenor, together with Johan van der Linden (soprano), Niels Bijl (alto), and Niels Merwijk (baritone). In 2013, Femke IJlstra would replace Van der Linden, and Juan Manuel Domínguez, Merwijk. This quartet would sign glorious pages in the history of the saxophone, touring the world, premiering a hundred works, and releasing eleven albums for 35 years until its extinction in 2017.
  • 1983: Performs eight performances with the National Youth Orchestra of the Netherlands, playing Debussy’s Rhapsody for orchestra and saxophone.
  • 1986: Wins the Vriendenkrans Competition at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam.
  • 1986: After graduating with top honors, the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science of the Netherlands allows him to extend his studies in Paris (France) under Daniel Deffayet. He would also study under Jean-Marie Londeix in Bordeaux (France) and Ryo Noda in Osaka (Japan).
  • 1991: Receives the Dutch Music Prize—the highest distinction of the Ministry of Education, Culture, and Science of the Netherlands.
  • 1995: Becomes professor of Saxophone at the Conservatory of Amsterdam.
  • 1996: Performs with Ivo Janssen—his piano partner since 1983—at the famous Prinsengracht Concert in Amsterdam, in front of more than 15,000 people.
  • 2001: Releases with Janssen his unforgettable album Adolphe Sax Revisited (Ottavo)—the first recording made with period instruments, using saxophones made by Sax himself and a piano Sébastien Érard.
  • 2003: Re-releases with the ensemble Wiener Concert-Verein the lately discovered original version of Heitor Villa-Lobos’ Fantasia.
  • 2020: Releases his latest album, Dance: Bach by Bornkamp (Genuin), a monograph of Bach’s music transcribed for solo saxophone.

Content Featuring Arno Bornkamp

Did you enjoy this content? Please consider sharing it with others who may find it interesting: