Restricted access

This content is exclusive to members of the International Journal of Music.

Join now for as low as $1.67 per month…

…or get FREE access if you are a student or teacher!

Alban Gerhardt’s Highlights


Cite this:

Publication date:

ISSN: 2792-8349

Copyright ©

International Journal of Music

  • 1969: Born in Berlin, Germany, into a family of musicians — his mother was a coloratura soprano, and his father was a violinist for the Berlin Philharmonic since 1966 for over 40 years.
  • 1977: Took up the cello at age 8 (played the piano already for some years), studying with Marion Vetter and Götz Teutsch (Berlin Philharmonic), and later with Markus Nyikos and Boris Pergamenschikov.
  • 1987: Debut at the Berliner Philharmonie with a chamber orchestra, performing Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 2.
  • 1990: Won both the ARD International Music Competition and the German Music Competition, whose recording (Kodály / Debussy / De Falla / Kreisler / Paganini) was released by Primavera Records the following year.
  • 1991: Debut with the Berlin Philharmonic / Semyon Bychkov, launching his career as an international soloist.
  • 1993: Won the University of Maryland’s International Leonard Rose Cello Competition in the USA.
  • 1998: ​​His album Brahms (Harmonia Mundi) with pianist Markus Groh won an Echo Klassik Music Award in the Newcomer of the Year category.
  • 1999: Became a member of the BBC New Generation Artists scheme for three years.
  • 2000: BBC Prom debut: Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1 (Royal Scottish National Orchestra / Alexander Lazarev).
  • 2001: Three performances at BBC Proms: Dvořák’s Cello Concerto (City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra / Sakari Oramo); Beethoven’s Triple Concerto for violin, cello and piano (Lisa Batiashvili, violinist / Steven Osborne, pianist / BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra / Osmo Vänskä); Schubert’s Piano Trio No. 1 (Steven Osborne, pianist / Lisa Batiashvili, violinist).
  • 2003: Album Anton Rubinstein: Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra, Don Quixote, The Demon (MDG Gold) with the Wuppertal Symphony Orchestra / George Hanson won an Echo Klassik Music Award in the Concert Recording of the Year category.
  • 2006: His first album for Hyperion, The Romantic Cello Concerto with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra / Carlos Kalmar (released in 2005), got the Jury Nomination at the inaugural MIDEM Classical Awards.
  • 2008: 5th Prom: Prokofiev’s Symphony-Concerto (BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra / Ilan Volkov).
  • 2009: 6th Prom: World premiere of Unsuk Chin’ Cello Concerto, dedicated to him (BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra / Ilan Volkov). His double CD Reger: Cello Sonatas (Hyperion, 2008) with pianist Markus Becker won an Echo Klassik Music Award in the Chamber Music Recording of the Year category.
  • 2012: In cooperation with Deutsche Bahn (Germany’s main railway company), he offered live performances at German train stations. The same year, he became Artist-in-Residence with the Oregon Symphony in the USA for three seasons.
  • 2013: His recording of Benjamin Britten’s complete works for violoncello on the centenary of his birth (1913 – 1976), Britten: Cello Symphony, Cello Sonata & Cello Suites (Hyperion), with the pianist Steven Osborne and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra / Andrew Manze, was nominated for the Gramophone Award.
  • 2014: Artist-in-Focus at Wigmore Hall London.
  • 2015: Album Unsuk Chin: 3 Concertos (Deutsche Grammophon, 2014), including the world premiere recording of Chin’s Cello Concerto with Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra / Myung-Whun Chung, won an International Classical Music Award (ICMA) in the Contemporary Music category, and also received the BBC Music Journal Award and was shortlisted for a Gramophone Award.
  • 2016: 7th Prom: Dvořák’s Cello Concerto (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra / Charles Dutoit).
  • 2017: 8th Prom: Schumann’s Cello Concerto (BBC Philharmonic / John Storgårds). Founded #Musicians4UnitedEurope — a group of international musicians working together to voice their support for a united and democratic Europe.
  • 2020: Debuts with Cincinnati Symphony (playing the Chin Concerto) and New York Philharmonic (playing the Dean concerto) within two weeks right before lockdown.
  • 2021: His album Shostakovich: Cello Concertos (Hyperion, 2020) with the WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne / Jukka-Pekka Saraste won an International Classical Music Award (ICMA) in the Concertos category.

Content Featuring Alban Gerhardt

Did you enjoy this content? Please consider sharing it with others who may find it interesting: